Five Thousand Bodhi

by Christos Polydorou

 

In the future we are reborn
free falling into a baptism
of our own self liberation

speakable yes
sungable yes
Sarus Crane and I
were reborn

and no need
for my year three thousand wife

Sarus to have saved me
because she saved me
a century earlier
and that’s how we met

Sarus and I
in love

beauty
to
beauty

understanding
how

liberation
is simultaneously
freedom from suffering
and the endless round
of existence

for Sarus Crane
and I

Sarus Crane
and I
in love

I am remembering
fourth century
where we were all freed
within the nirvana
of our own liberation

Bodhi
to
Bodhi

War ends
when lobha dosa
and moha end

when Sarus rescued me
from Devadatta

In the Bhagavad Gita
the conch shell used by
Arjuna on the battle field
of Kurukshetra
was named Devadatta

In fourth century
were we beaming up
with souls four
souls squared
souls are not squares

and she and I
swam glorious koi
koi to koi

koi pond
is the soul
and the soul
is Buddha

and to the Buddha
the path to
liberation is one
of progressively
coming out of delusion

In this future
we are one prayer
one genius
and we see the world anew.

She is remembering
European Pied Flycatcher
whom she was
when she was
nirvana
herself

And I am remembering
Eagle
whom I was
when I was
freedom
himself

Spare the caterpillars
she’d say
for they turn into butterflies
for the one I love

Spare the butterflies
I’d say
spare my meaningless legs
walk on water
with me
you are the one I love

This is our
prayer.

It is the time of us to begin
anew

We always begin
anew

We are
new

We are
one

We are one
genius

We are one
poet

We are one
artist

We are one
writer

We are one
singer

We are one
forever

In the year five thousand we are reborn
speakable yes
sungable yes
of saints

Virtue
begets
virtue

live
by
the
pen

conch
shell
to
conch
shell

wind to wind
and our hearts
our
instruments of peace

