Ease

by Christos Polydorou

image

Do not call me :
your seniorita

Do not call me :
your geisha :

Your Neanderthal
woman :

Your animal to
tame .

I am of the
jungle :
but I am not a :
beast
At least one that is not a :
carnivore
Accept my : friends
that the : elephants are :
right

The world needs to :
be led by a matriarchy
a wise great mother :
to guide us out of
our therapists’ rooms :

into the natural daylight :
into the Serengeti :

As red :

as
the desert
in our hearts ;

Why scream
in cathedrals?

Why sacrifice
our bodies to arsonism?

Forgive even the witch,
and follow –

the oldest
female elephant

into the dangers
of Mars and back,

safe and sound,
tonight,

which is every single night,
under a nearly full moon,

which is the same moon
we see :

no matter
where

in this vast
universe

we may be
scattered.

