Immortal

by Christos Polydorou

A working
prayer :

Like a
charm :

In the hands of a charming
charmless man :

Like
charisma
on a cosmic
scale :

a parallel
mystery :

a product of chemistry
and aesthetics :

it comes alive :

at the most :

natural
moments :

and everything makes
sense
to me :

when I have
lived in anticipation :

watching the wet
leaves on trees :

and as the year’s last
cherry blossoms :

spin to the ground
some at my feet :

We lost
the words for asking :

for things we need
which is why :

we have too much
yet so little :

Some of the words we had
stitched to our tongues :

Most were forgotten
as they unravelled with the first kiss :

My soul is dimming thing :
I need :
binoculars to see

:
it
:
So I burn:

my body
like a sword:
to cut through
the layers

:

of time
and human bones

:

to get to my soul’s glimmer
flickering

:

candleflame
on the candelabra of an astral chandelier.

:

I take it
quick

the glimmer

(if successful)

and distill it in a poem
or a gem

This is
poetry

This is an attempt
at immortality

Take it
quick

Take it
and run

Keep it safe for me

In flesh for us

On your mouth for your children

Corruscated on your lips for the future

Someone in the future may read it and think of us

and bring us back
from wherever we might be

in the moment they read our poems
and think of us.

