LOVE

by Christos Polydorou

​Oh

Dorian.
Ah!

Has it been a year?
Ugh!

You brought me here,
to this clearing.

I had lived
in the area

so long
and did not

know there was open
space just near

our house
with grass and birds

and many
majestic trees.

Our fates
met.

We were
roommates.

I stood back
as my feelings for you

developed into trees or totems,
as tall as you,

then taller,
taller than you.

You had vision and
you could see
beneath the surfaces
and understood

the enigma
of surfaces

and in your finest
moments you sought

supersymmetry
in everything.

I was as blind to love
as you were,

a lone wolf,
a guileless romantic,

a fool for love.
And though we

became friends,
brothers

perhaps,
I loved you more.

Sexually?
I am not sure

what sex is anymore.
But this does not matter.

I drink a glass of water now
to your name.

You moved to Bavaria,
and I stayed here in the clearing

digging twigs into the ground
spelling the word LOVE.

Of course I love you.
I absolutely want us to be together.

Naturally I am still in love with you
and I no longer care who knows.

For you,
Dorian

wherever you are.
You will always have

art
in me.

