Stilts

by Christos Polydorou

​I have been looking at shades of white all day…

You flow
through my music
Embodying your voice
may be the riskiest thing
I may do:

Sit on that log

Legs up

Prayer is vertical

Vertical is heard

Heard is answered.

I’d like strangers to get goosebumps when I walk past
You seem to be saying
I do and I don’t understand
any of this:

For the first time in my life
I want to my goodness as a poet
and my goodness as a person
not to exist

at each other’s expense…
I wore my skinniest jeans to this.

I have been looking at shades of white all day.
Along the way the boys were so pretty.
The boys were so clever.
They said miraculous things.

At day, rain is pain
but at night rain is

so peaceful.

NB I celebrate four years with this website today. Thank you for reading. You are my stilts.

