The river in the sky (Bodies of water)

by Christos Polydorou

I follow you,
Though you are no where
to be found:

I listen to you
though you are
a sun in slow journey…

I hear you
in the aeroplanes
in the sky:

I see a river there
bound
by clouds

and angels
tumbling
to the ground:

Never flailing.

You are everywhere,
Our Love.
In the veins of a leaf.

In the rose
beds,
underneath.

And when
you expand
all we step out of our homes

somehow synchronously and to the
heavens look
like auspingers.

Biblical times
continued,
and the scientist rhymes

with the philosopher
on the
vast stage of

pantomime, undulating
with real, solid grief.

But, my love, it is
redeemable. Meanwhile,
in nature reserves in city centres the

plants grow
heavy and strong,
their stalks thick,

their petals
literally
weighted

by
immeasurable
colour.

You put this
in me.
It is not

just a notion,
it is an ocean
inside a drop.

Meanwhile
the river in the sky ebbs,
flows.

