The Serious Reader

by Christos Polydorou

Where are you going?
To Greece, on foot, to bring back the finest marble.
Sounds heavy.
Then I best come up with a better metaphor.
You are flamboyantly innocent.
Is it that apparent?
Your moments of transparency depend on your innocence.
Who are you?
Your inner critic. Who are you?
A voice trying to leave a pattern behind.
A pattern of?
A map.
A map of?
Guidance. I am going to Greece, on foot, to bring back the finest marble. I will sit in the middle of an abandoned warehouse and I will carve a bust with no discernible features, a smooth faced human, a modern sculpture of either a woman or a man, both, and I will call it The Serious Reader.
The Human Section?
It is real.
I am offering you my protection
You are barely prescient to apply. I am going.

