This poem was supposed to be called something other than Empty but it landed

by Christos Polydorou


When you left me
I felt so empty
Until I realized
There were so many
Many fish in the sea
Who can make me
feel emptier

I found unexpected comfort
in my bittersweet loneliness
in women with electric guitars
And discounted Häagen-Dazs
And I poured my pain
into pleasurable poems
I wrote initially for myself
Those nights I recall like gold halos in iconographies
However my art was a trap
That forced me to look at things more meaningfully in my urban loneliness

I stand over sunlit quays but I no longer whisper your name as it is knitted into my bones…

For you

For you

For you…
Sweet love

New joy!

Go out there…

Find someone not to be alone with

Can anyone tell me where?
No!
Not for a mature love

Life makes me wish I was more of a romantic

It makes me want to change

Life makes me want to adore my time

The urban world is another more frustrating story…

To look back, on even you, perhaps especially you
And experience no regret

Not even let my imagination run wild

To leave the space within me
empty
For grace
to flow through

like a river in the sky
For the sky
with its luminous reeds
to score
its amorous sighs
its existential cries
onto a night at least one million miles long between your song and mine.


When you left me
I felt so empty
Until I realized
There were so many
Many fish in the sea
Who can make me
feel emptier…

This is not a pantomime.

You are singing mountain,
I am singing mountain.

Your song
is my song.

