All, of the above

by Christos Polydorou

Thank you for coming to see me on such short notice.
I was actually surprised to find myself happy that you called. I had been wondering whether or not I should initiate another meeting with you. It has been a while.
How are you perceiving your life at the moment?
Different. I have been seeing different. Something changed.
What?
The way I have been feeling about the one thing that I happen to be feeling, which I once considered and lived as if it was the most important thing in the life of a person. Would you like me to be more specific?
If you could.
The way I was feeling was at the center of a circle that I chose not to recognize as ever widening.
I see.
The way I was feeling with respect to the circle that is ever widening is not on the periphery or the circumference of the circle that is ever widening either. It is somewhere between the center and the circumference.
So what is the most significant thing poised between the self and the ever widening circle if not the way one feels in it?
May I ask if this is the first time that you have in particular asked yourself or anybody else this particular question?
It is important.
It is important.
This is the first time that I have asked this question.
What does answering a question of such nature do to our boundaries of knowledge and enlightenment?
Answering a question of such nature extends and our boundaries of knowledge and enlightenment against the antonyms of these boundaries, darkness, and ignorance.
Not to mention selective blindness.
Punishable?
Amendable, even if your heart is in the right place.
If it was not in the right place would my heart not to mention the rest of me die?
Let us go back to the ever widening circle and the way you felt being placed erroneously at the center of it.
The center of the ever widening circle is not the right place for the way I feel. Just as the right place for a piece of rhubarb crumble is not on the floor with spoon waiting next to the mess.
I see. So what is at the center of the ever widening circle?
Love.
Love!
Love.
And by love you mean which kind of love?
The love you, within the ever widening circle, need to have for those which require your protection, like wild animals, children, works of art.
Not my heart, my pride, my dignity?
Those you redeem through good practice.
And through knowledge?
Your life.
What I now know makes me doubt what I knew before.
All, of the above.

