Especially

by Christos Polydorou

Love lies bleeding
But how long
is it
supposed
to lie
bleeding?

The autumn
leaves are
spinning

Yellow

Red

Purple

The autumn
leaves are
spinning

To the
ground,
no sound,
all
alone

And wounds
bleed,
and we watch them wondering
why,
instead of healing

All my demons
are illuminating me
from beneath

Their glimmer starts
in their
teeth

All the halos
with their saints
and the angels
are arranged concentric
ally over my head,
even though I am just a
guy, and not the son of
the Messiah

Any means
necessary to any horizons,

being human reveals humanity
to ourselves as bizzarely comforting

What exists cannot exist without protection

If protection is suspended then so is existence

Even
you

are
protected

Especially
you.

Why,
the self loathing?

Why,
a low potassium count?

Why,
aren’t you eating your greens?

Sleep deeply, work hard,
but do not kill yourself,

believe in yourself
but don’t over-estimate yourself,

don’t under-estimate yourself either,
keep something for yourself,

humanity is not a weakness
or let’s call a spade a cloud,

I bore witness to boredom
that could make you plunge,

plunge into such despair,
and despair, like love,

is all
consuming

God is dead,
But how long is he supposed to live in hiding?

Yes we are alive.
But we are subdued.

I want to do more
than climb,

more than
fly

I don’t know
why  .

