Odysseus at sea

by Christos Polydorou

Finalised in paradise,
I barely had a chance
to realise
where I was
before I got
booted. My
fate swept in and dressed me, in
songs, in colours. It
left me out
in the deserts
to dry, I left
the deserts
to come find you
instead. I followed
a river. I followed
birds. I followed
the way kisses made me
melt. I followed
the tears
a poem
released
from me. I reached a
city. I reached a
crossroads. I climbed the
towers. And there I found
you, shoulders exposed, your
bones bathed in
moonlight. I came
to. I drank
from your water. I
finally quenched
my eternal thirst. My cosmic
concern became
appeased. I became
more than I
could have been. I
became a man. I
could have
been a
redeemer to Troy, but
I am a vagabond, and
there is no moving
mountains. Drink
all the boundaries
left, let walls
of politics
and jurisdictions
crumble in us, like
Penelope’s heart, hearts,
she’d need at least thirteen
for a man like me. By
the time I go to her
it will be
too late,
and so I sing to the sycamores
and I collect the feathers
of cormorants
grazing the surfaces
of the Aegean,
watching my soul soar.
I just wanted paradise
back.
