One is dumbfounded by the thing he loves

by Christos Polydorou

One is
dumbfounded
by the thing
he loves:

why this
thing?

why
me?

why
now?

One is dumbfounded
by the thing
he loves:

tip me over!

like a holy cow!

a crappy thing!

to do!

to cows!

One is dumbfounded
by the thing
he loves:

Keep your cool. Heaven
sent. Keep paying rent.
Resting.  Recovery. Wisdom

that comes with
age. Know better, know
less, know nothing, know

everything, forget it all,
start over, like

there is
a RESTART button
on your life

like there is
on your

computer
or phone.

One is dumbfounded
by the thing
he loves:

leave me alone
so I can yearn for you

like I do yearn
for the phone

that has not
been invented yet. This

has been a map of
yearning. Leave me alone

so I can write
about you

before
all of us

disappears.

