Take the queue

by Christos Polydorou


I love
you. I hate you. I put a hit out
on you. I am cold, distant,
gone. I wish you to leave me
alone, please don’t leave me. Don’t
look at me, don’t look at anyone
else. Ask me to cook you a
meal, show up when it
is way too
cold to eat, listen to me shout how
I don’t care as I smash
the plates against
the kitchen wall. Because this is a twenty-first century,
urban, bipolar love. The
epic of a dead man walking
to the shores to be reborn
by the waves of a choir
of mermaids
who lure sailors
to their amorous deaths.

This is the love story of a man
half inside his own body,
half outside. He listens
to his heart
clearly

but is terrified
but what it asks. Hey,
you, take
the
queue.

This is your own
romantic

destiny

inching into a phrase
talking

to you.

Take the queue.

 

 

