Flicker

by Christos Polydorou

Dream of me tonight. We see each
other, across floors, and we become
blind to one another, this is love,

this is how it goes, and flows, and
crushes, everyone, in its path. It would
be foolhardy to expect anything other

from a mountain than ascent, or
descent. Dream of me. I know you
are with someone else

now, and so am I,
but what we had,
it wasn’t perfect,

but it was something. It was a
castle, a volcano, it was a cliff,
all things to jump off of, and

plunge, shouting, below. I dream
of you, and my skin stretches, trembles,
shakes me out me, until I am bones,

swept away, creating a new man,
like tumble weed, wind-spun,
in a desert. Once upon a time

I peered into a mirror
and reached out
and touched you

and not glass. The
electricity of that, that
flicker,

is eternal, and
addictive.
Forget?

Do you think
kisses stop me?
Always

I
come
back

to it. Always,
I
come

back
to
it. Always,

I –

