Gallantry

by Christos Polydorou

2017-02-18-16-46-06

Many virtues have been lost with the passing of time and the hardening of the human heart, but perhaps one we need to restore is gallantry. I have been, mainly because London is such an overcrowded place, so the alternative to gallantry would be rage. It is so much easier to avoid confrontation, than to just let other people through. If they are in such a rush to get to where they need to go, they need not lose caution by you berating them for pushing you out of the way. Where I draw the line, however, is the queue, especially since it was established and developed in London, I feel the need to approach it with austerity. So when a lady blatantly cut in front of me, and I pointed it out (although in the past, I would have just said, Woe is me, and shrugged, in submission), and she responded in an abrupt, impatient way, grabbing my arm, and pinching it, I gave her my spot in the queue, only to tell her, You shouldn’t grab strangers arms, madam, you may have bruised me. Everyone looked at her. I did not feel good about myself in particular, but I can no longer blame myself or the universe for these awkward situations, and so I let it all go, and focus on how to bring gallantry into the twenty-first century within myself, and allowing others to cut in front. I will go where I need to go, and if I go steadily, and with the god of my own understanding, the mere experience of going from A to B will be so much richer.

