Have A Beard or How it might often be necessary to contradict contemporary needs of our contemporaries on the grounds of social conditioning

by Christos Polydorou

My beard, growing, all flowing, smooth, and all knowing, precedes me. I shop in markets and guys and girls stare. I like the attention, but I am not vain. I hope everyone is able to recall that there is a person attached to a beard, just as there is a person attached to long blond hair, or a tattoos. We are not sexual objects, but lovers, and I’ve always contradicted this contemporary need of our contemporaries to reduce us into sexual objects to avoid a bit of soul searching, feeling, anything. A beard, all knowing, will take me, like it took Plato, where I need to go. The beard’s journey is in the end spiritual.

