Leonardo, you showed her

At night
The day falls on my darling
The day falls on my darling
And flattens her

At night
She slips between
The door and the doorstep
And the wind blows her away

(Only a little May wind
Too much and the trees are coming down)

The wind carries her to the City
There she comes of age

There she comes of age
At night
My beauty
Like a talented actress, on the London stage

She is the girl, you do not initially see, but have been searching for your whole life,
When I said she was mine I was being hopeful (and metaphorical)
You almost have not to see her to see her
But when you do you’ll spot her grin

Almost (but not quite) cattish
A touch of the sinister
A baby’s breath of the macabre:

As though
She knows
Some secret Secret

image

of the universe
which shapes her grin
which sculpts her chin

into sheer cheekiness.
She is the “guardian angel” of us all.
The lady that da Vinci painted

The painting which hung over Napoleon’s bed for years
Which Picasso was believed to have stolen in the early 19th century.

He died on this day, May 2nd.
Leonardo da Vinci.
What would I say to Leonardo da Vinci
if I ever met him?

Leonardo, è le mostrò.

Leave a comment